Tuesday 23 March 2010

Jimmy Power - Irish Fiddle Player (1976)

Jimmy Power - Irish Fiddle Player (Topic - 12TS306 - 1976)

This album is available to buy from Topic Records.

Unlike the 'Irish Dances' (Clan - 233 003 - 1967) album, which was recorded in strict dance tempo, the music on this album is, in Power's own words, 'played normal, like', with an emphasis on listening pleasure, rather than absolute rhythmic precision. Tunes like Tommy Potts' version of 'The Rambling Pitchfork', and Michael Gorman compositions 'The Strayaway Child' and 'The Mountain Road' are played with an obvious relish for the subtleties of variation that are available to the precise and imaginative fiddle player, and the tune selections in general are fresh and interesting, although Power's playing is not perhaps as vigorous and exciting as it is on the 'Paddy in the Smoke' album (Topic - TSCD 603 - 1997). Power is accompanied on all tracks by Reg Hall, and on one track by Gerry Wright on bodhrán. You can listen to Jimmy Power describing his introduction to music as a boy, his development as a musician, and his relationship with Reg Hall, in a brief interview in the British Library's Archival Sound Recordings. You can also listen to a fragment of a music lesson given by Power at The Favourite in Holloway in 1979.

1. Tommy Potts' Rambling Pitchfork/The Strayaway Child [Jigs]
2. The Chorus/McKenna's [Reels]
3. Jockey to the Fair/Miss Brown's Fancy [Set Dances]
4. Coleman's Favourite/The Promenade [Hop Jigs]
5. Dwyer's/The Harvest Home [Hornpipes]
6. Jackie Coleman's/The Castle [Reels]
7. The Nine Points of Roguery/The Crib of Perches [Reels]
8. Whelan's/The Lark in the Morning [Jigs]
9. The Mountain Road [Reel]
10. Follow Me Down to Limerick/Hardiman the Fiddler [Slip Jigs]
11. Youghal Harbour [Set Dance]
12. The Walls of Liscarroll [Jig]
13. The Jug of Punch/The Moving Bogs of Powelsborough [Reels]
14. Statia Donnelly's [Waltz]/Statia Donnelly's [Jig]


  1. keep up the good work, there's some awesome recordings to be found here !

  2. I think you should remove this as Topic has recently made the album available for download - http://digital.thinkindie.com/search/?label_id=42.

  3. Thanks for the heads-up Hermano.